As of January 1, 2021 any person 40 years old and younger must possess a California Boater's license before they can obtain an ALA Operator's License.
Beginning January 1, 2018, the mandatory boating safety education law went into effect and will be phased in by age. If you operate any type of motorized vessel on California waterways, including powered sailboats and paddle craft, and if you are 25 years or under you are required to pass an approved boating safety exam and carry a lifetime California Boater Card. You are required to have your ALA Boat Operator's Certificate for boating on Lake Arrowhead.
The California Boater Card will show that its holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state-approved boater safety education examination. The new requirement began on Jan. 1, 2018 for all persons 25 years of age and younger who operate any motorized vessel on state waterways, including powered sailboats and paddle craft. On that date, these boaters are required to carry a boater card issued by DBW. Each year after January 2018, a new age group will be added to those who are required to possess a valid card. By 2025, all persons who operate on California waters will be required to have one. Once issued, the card remains valid for a boat operator's lifetime.
You may obtain a California Boater Card at any time and don't have to wait until it is required for your age group. Boaters who plan on instructing boating to a non-card holder must also have a Boater Card.
The card will be issued by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) prior to the Jan. 1, 2018 implementation date. The Boater Card Technical Advisory Group anticipates that the cost of the card will be no more than $10. The lost card replacement fee will be no more than $5. Boaters may take an approved boating safety course online, in a classroom or through home study.
You may be pre-qualified for a Boater Card, so check out the website today!
Click Here to go to the California Boater Card website for more information.